I’m Going!!

December 31, 2010

This week has been quite the whirlwind and it wasn’t until today that I realized I should probably update this blog. I left you all hanging at the beginning of the week with my post about my medical deferral and probably not going to Thailand. I should have been a little more quick to follow up with how this week went!

I submitted all my appeal paperwork on Monday morning and about an hour later received a call from my PC nurse telling me that I was back in the game and definitely would be going to Thailand! That was completely unexpected. I guess what happens with the appeal process is that they put your paperwork in front of a physician and if the physician agrees with the appeal then you’re good to go – they just overturn the deferral. Only if they don’t agree do you actually have to go through the appeals board. I guess the physician liked the info I sent and he decided I could go!

So, all the stress of the last two weeks is behind me and I now know my fate.

However, I now have the stress of leaving one week from today! It’s crazy to try and pack up an entire life in less than two weeks … hence being a little slow no posting this news.

Anyway, I hope you all have an amazing New Years and a wonderful year ahead!

6 Responses to “I’m Going!!”

  1. Julie Says:

    Amazing! From your previous posts it sounded like you had little hope of the decision being appealed. Good luck with the packing and thanks for posting updates for other restless applicants.

  2. Melissa Says:

    Did you see that two of your posts came up as #4 and #5 of the top read posts for 2010 on Peace Corps Journals!!

    http://www.peacecorpsjournals.com/?Top2010

    Congrats!

  3. Suzanne Says:

    GREAT news! I’m so happy for you. Hope you’re enjoying every minute of your new life in Thailand.

  4. Hannah Says:

    Hey Kylene, Thank you so much for posting about your dealings with medical clearance and peace corps. I am about to go through a similar process. I received my invitation this week but I recently found out i have ascus cin 1 hpv and need to tell peace corps. I am afraid of what they will tell me. Will they still let me serve? I would love to get in touch with you and get some advice as i proceed in the next few weeks. I believe your insight could really help me through this scary process. If you can, please email me. I would really appreciate it! Thank you so much!

  5. Seanna Says:

    Hey,

    I just came across your post after searching the web desperately for something to help me with appealing my medical non-clearance. I was just wondering what were some of the things you used to appeal your case. I understand that somethings might be private, you don’t have to include anything personal, I just want to know where to start. Thank you!!!


    • Hi Seanna,

      I’m sorry to hear you have to go through the appeals process! I will shoot you an email with some additional info about my process and what I did to get cleared. Hopefully it will help!


Leave a Reply

