Invite not here yet … but more info.

October 4, 2010

So my invitation has not arrived yet (I’m crossing my fingers for today but most likely it’ll be tomorrow or Wednesday) but I did receive a call from placement today.

After finding out on Friday that I was getting an invite I emailed my PO and asked for more details, but I also put a call in to the general Education Placement desk just in case. My PO emailed me back and said I’d have to wait for any information until the invite was received. I was a bit disappointed because I know many people who receive invites find out in their final interview the region or departure time or something …

But, a person from the Education desk called me today and was able to give me the following information:

Region: Eastern Europe/Asia
Departure: January

Now, since Eastern Europe has never been mentioned to me during this entire process, but Asia was one of the regions I was being considered for, I’m going to stick with that assumption – that it’s Asia.

And with a departure in January, that means it would have to be THAILAND (if previous/current departures are correct).

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I would say that I’m not letting myself get too excited without receiving the invitation … but, that would be a lie.

I’m so freakin’ excited!!!!!

When I first started this process and thought of the places I would like to go, Thailand was absolutely on the list. Granted my list was a mile long, but still … I think it would be a phenomenal experience. I also have a friend who just got back from a ten day trip to Thailand and said it was incredible. I don’t doubt it.

So, I’m waiting for the invite, but if deductive reasoning proves correct, it looks like I’m going to be a very happy camper🙂

I still haven’t made my final decision whether to serve or not – but things are definitely leaning that direction!

2 Responses to “Invite not here yet … but more info.”

  1. Kate Says:

    Wooo exciting!

    I JUST received the update via email that I had been invited, but no word to where or when it will be! I was wondering, did you get invited but not know where you were going from your online application thing? I’m so confused!

    • kylenemichele Says:

      Hi Kate,

      Yeah I had to wait until the invitation actually arrived to find out where I was going. However, I was able to get some information about region and leave time from a general assistant at the Education Desk. I would try giving them a call and see what they can tell you. I don’t know if you’re working with the Ed Desk too, but some are willing to share that info so maybe all desks are the same. But, you’ll have to wait until you get the invite to know the exactly country.

      I’m sure you already know about it, but if you do find out your region and leave month you can go to http://www.peacecorpswiki.org and check Staging Dates and it’ll tell you the history of what countries left in what months. You may be able to figure out where you’re going that way.

      Congrats!


Leave a Reply

