I seriously just need to stop …

August 25, 2010

This rollercoaster is unbearable. Yes, the waiting part of the placement process can be difficult, but it’s the emotional rollercoaster part that drives me insane. I know a good part of it is my fault, but how do you not take yourself on the ride when PC provides little to no information for you to go off of?

I have had my ups and downs all throughout the process from applying and receiving my nomination for only 5 months later, to medical with my accommodation, and now even with placement. They tell you just enough information to wet your appetite but not enough to really answer your questions – so you’re forced to answer them yourself and let yourself go crazy.

Today was no exception. Yesterday was the 6-week deadline for my current nomination (as I posted in my last post) and I didn’t receive a call. Technically this should mean that I’m not invited. They tell you that they will definitely contact you prior to the 6-week mark (sometimes that same day) and rarely do they break that … so rightfully so I was sad yesterday and was trying to figure out what this could all mean. Was I rejected? What do I do if that’s the case? When would they let me know that for sure? Could they just be behind? If they are, does that mean I still have a shot? Utterly exhausting and emotional to say the least.

Well, then I get a phone call today from a Placement Assistant telling me they are just behind and that my file will be on a Placement Officer’s desk by the end of the day today and that I should hear something by the end of the week … awesome news? YES! But, still a part of the rollercoaster. Another up, another down.

I just need to stop letting  myself get caught up in it. This journey is going to take me somewhere … whether it be my current nomination, another country, or a completly different road non-PC related … I’m going to keep moving forward whether it’s today, tomorrow, next month, or next year. The constant questions, waiting, ups, downs, and so on are only helping to make this process frustrating and upsetting … I just need to let it go, wait it out, and stop letting myself get sucked in to the process. This should be an awesome experience leading to something great and instead I’m uptight and on edge. LET IT GO!

Anyway, my next post will be invitation related … or something to do with that front. I am refusing to post or get sucked into this whole game even further🙂 I’m waiting it out and will update you all when I actually have some information … rather than speculation.

You all probably think I’m crazy … and I probably am🙂

2 Responses to “I seriously just need to stop …”

  1. Nancy Says:

    Hang in there – my fingers are crossed that you’ll get the call today, to somewhere extraordinary!

  2. Jessie Says:

    Thank you for your post about the frustration of waiting to hear more. There are a lot of people in a similar situation and I’m sure your posts help.


Leave a Reply

