Disappointment and the Unknown

August 24, 2010

Today has been a rough day.

Today was the final day to be invited to my current nomination … and I didn’t get a call. I kept my phone with me all day, checked it compulsively as always, wondering if I just didn’t hear it ring … but it never did. It’s 1:50pm and the office closes in 10 minutes. No call.

What does that mean for me?

Well, first it means I probably didn’t get invited to the Pacific Islands. There is still a small chance as I know sometimes they break the 6-week rule … and my placement officer was out of the office until today and may just be running behind … but it also could mean I just wasn’t invited.

I’m strangely more disappointed about that than I thought I would be. I am happy going anywhere in the world, but having that nomination in my head the last three months has created a picture of my future PC experience and letting that go is difficult.

It also means that if I wasn’t invited to the Pacific Islands, my options are completely unknown now, and completely up in the air. Are they going to place me somewhere else? Am I going to leave soon, a few months, next year? I don’t have any idea … and that scares me.

I know that I’m qualified. I have an undergraduate degree in English education, four years in the classroom, a Masters in Educational Technology, and 12 years of coaching and organizational work. What I’m worried about is my medical accommodation. They’ve given me no information as to how much that restricts me. Are only a few countries off the list? Or dozens?

Where do I go from here?

I still have hope. My medical assistant told me if I didn’t hear from her by the end of the week to give her a call. I’ll obviously be doing that … and I’m still hopefully that maybe that means my officer is just behind or that they will have found something else for me. Crossing my fingers …

2 Responses to “Disappointment and the Unknown”

  1. Kati Says:

    Hi Kylene, I’ve been reading your site for a bit, but this is my first comment. I’m in the application process in Seattle as well. I just got a call from my recruiter (Linda) to schedule my interview on Monday, and from what she was telling me, they’re pretty slammed over there right now. I met her at an info session last night, and there are a few folks from HQ in whom the office is hosting, as well. They’re all placement officers, but I think it’s adding a bit of pressure to the office. So, I wouldn’t worry about it, it might just be that they’re totally slammed right now, both in Seattle and at HQ. If you don’t hear anything by mid-day tomorrow, perhaps give them a call. At least you’ll know where you stand. Best of luck!


  2. This same exact thing happened to me! They had initially told me that I was still being considered for my original program (leaving in September), but at 2 days til deadline I called placement and they said that I had missed this deadline for Central Asia/Eastern Europe. But, a day later they called me and said that I should know something in 2-3 weeks, and would likely be leaving at the beginning of next year. So, haven’t heard anything yet (it has only been about a week), but the point of this long rambling personal anecdote is don’t freak out – if you’ve gotten this far, they’re probably scrambling to find another suitable post for you – although it does feel weird to think of going to say Thailand when you’ve (read, me) been daydreaming about having a yurt on the steppes somewhere.


Leave a Reply

