No New News … Truckin’ Along

August 16, 2010

I’ve decided to give up on my countdown to the 6-week deadline. It’s not helping with my RAS at all!

Here’s my thoughts on PC today … I’m fairly confident that I’ve been nominated to serve in Tonga, but the contact I have had with placement is confusing me. Both Tonga and Samoa leave on October 5th so the 6-week deadline would be October 24th … that’s a week from tomorrow. However, I received an email today from placement in response to one I sent last week and they said “You are still being considered for your original nomination. If you are invited to serve you will hear from us by the end of the month.”  They may just be saying end of the month as to not give anything away or to give themselves time if they go beyond the 6-week deadline … but it makes me wonder if other Pacific Island locations will pop up later in the month.

This uncertainty is driving me crazy … hence giving up the countdown and attempting to do everything I can to STOP thinking so much about PC. I want to serve very badly, but if I struggle through every day and then learn I didn’t get an invite, I would be devastated. I just need to concentrate on other things and let things take their course.

Not saying it’s going to be easy, but that’s what I’m going to try to do!

2 Responses to “No New News … Truckin’ Along”

  1. Sara Says:

    Hi-

    I stumbled across your blog when I was searching for Peace Corps blogs and I see you are headed (hopefully) to the Pacific Islands- Tonga for teacher training in October. That was initial placement that I accepted and am hoping for! I am just waiting for medical clearance to come and then the invitation.

    Hopefully in just a few months we will both be in Tonga!

    Sara

  2. Lilli Says:

    Hang in there, I’m rooting for you–and I know exactly how you feel. I had to just shut myself off from peacecorpsjournals.com and googling things for a few days because it was stressing me out. I actually started a job application for an in-case-I-don’t-get-an-invite backup plan, which was helpful for dealing with the RAS, too.
    Good luck!


Leave a Reply

