13 days … yes, you get a countdown.

August 11, 2010

13 days until the 6-week deadline … once again, I couldn’t stop thinking about PC today. I have officially decided to start a countdown to the 6-week mark on this site. If I’m going to be thinking about it all the time, I may as well make use of those thoughts and update this blog.

I received an email back from the education placement desk in response to the one I sent them yesterday. I had emailed them information about my new master’s degree and requested that the information be put into my file. The email back simply stated:

Kylene,

Thank you for the updates. They will be placed in your file.

Sincerely,

Random Person from the Education Placement Desk

I’m not going to lie, I was hoping for a bit more than that … perhaps an email back from my actual Placement Officer. No such luck, so the countdown continues.

One reason I couldn’t stop thinking about Peace Corps all day today was because I went to clean out my office/classroom at school. I resigned my job last week and had to make room for another teacher to come in. Some people would say I was stupid for giving up a stable teaching job for the Peace Corps when I don’t even have an invitation yet … half the time I agree with these people! However, I had to make a decision. It was time to sign contracts and start planning for the year. If I signed a contract, I would be bound to the job for at least a semester, if not the year, and that would most likely put off Peace Corps for awhile. Yes, there is a risk that I won’t get an invite until sometime later on or even get one at all, but sometimes you just have to jump in with both feet, and this was one of those times for me. If I’m not invited I’ll have to figure something else out, but for now I have faith that this is what I’m meant to do and everything will work out … but contact from Placement would definitely put my mind at ease!

Away from the Peace Corps front, I had a design consultation for my new tattoo today. I’ve been wanting to get a new tattoo for quite some time and just recently decided exactly what I want to get. I went in to meet with a woman at the shop today and ended up leaving a down payment for her to design it for me and also making an appointment to get the actual tattoo. Two weeks from today I’ll be newly inked … that’s exciting, but at the same time, I’m getting really tired of hearing “2 more weeks” … first PC, now this … give me something else please!!!

As for what the tattoo will be, I’m getting a cherry blossom branch on my right shoulder. It’s definitely a symbolic tattoo for me. I was looking for something that stands for serenity and peace, in the context of being happy with where you are and not stressing too much about life … loving yourself and your life and just taking things one day at a time. I came across the cherry blossoms and found that they represent the transience of life. Life comes and goes so quickly that you can’t dwell on any one thing or any one day. You have to take a deep breath and move on to the next thing because one day you could be gone and have no more opportunities.

This became even more meaningful to me with the passing of my grandfather and my uncle, both in the last year. Life really is short and you have to seize the day and live for the moment. So, that’s what my tattoo represents and I’m so excited to finally be getting it.

Alright, that’s about it for today … tune in tomorrow to see what ramblings my RAS brings about🙂

5 Responses to “13 days … yes, you get a countdown.”

  1. Fran Says:

    You may want to hold off on that tattoo. Sometimes just the simplist things can put a hold on your departure. This may be considered a “significant change” in your medical status.” Best wishes

  2. Crystal Says:

    I think it was smart of you to resign from teaching now rather than in the middle of the school year. It’s definitely better for you and the children. If I got a nomination in the middle of the school year, I would probably be so excited and anxious that I wouldn’t be able to live in the present and focus on my current job. Does that make any sense?

    And I absolutely love cherry blossoms! We have the cherry blossom festival here in Philadelphia every year.

  3. kylenemichele Says:

    That’s actually a good point about the tattoo … I’ll give my Medical Assistant a call and see what it might do to my file and go from there. Definitely might be a good idea to put it on hold.

    Though, I put that I had a few tattoos on my physical, nothing exact/specific, and was cleared … so I could always say I already had it. But, I do get the precaution and may just avoid it all together.


  4. If you don’t mind my asking, do you have any visible tattoos? If so how many? That is the one thing I am a bit worried about as far as receiving an invite goes: visible tattoos!

  5. kylenemichele Says:

    Not really, I have two on my right foot … so if I wear flip flops and anything shorter than long pants you can see them. But they are covered up with full shoes.

    As for visible tattoos, I know of some people in PC who have a bunch. You do have to be careful because some countries have cultural opinions on them, but I don’t think it would be a sole reason for not being accepted. good luck!


Leave a Reply

