Masters Degree, No PC News :(

August 4, 2010

I know it’s been quite awhile since my last update. I apologize to those of you who got used to following my blog on a somewhat daily basis! My only excuse is that I needed a break from the whole PC thing while I wait to hear from placement. I’ll get into that in a little bit … but I thought it was about time I get on here and let everyone know how things are going with my life and my PC journey.

Life has been pretty hectic the last few weeks since my last post. I started a new job for the summer, which I am absolutely loving. Like a number of other bloggers, this new job is going to make it difficult for me to leave for PC as I’m having such an incredible time and have met so many more people I’m going to have to say goodbye to. It’s been great though, lots of fun, lots of great people … makes working summers worth it🙂

I also finished graduate school. I now officially have a Master of Arts in Teaching and Learning with Technology. It has been a long time coming and I am sooo thrilled to finally be done. It was a wonderful journey and I’ve learned so many things, but I’m loving the extra time and freedom I have now that I don’t have classes to worry about on top of a full time job.

Two weeks ago I went on a cruise to celebrate finishing grad school and going into the Peace Corps (when I get an invite of course). Three friends and I took a seven day cruise to the Western Caribbean. It’s amazing how a luxurious trip like that can remind you why you are making a life decision like joining the PC. When we were in Belize we decided to take a city tour on a trolley around Belize City. The contrast between a luxurious cruise boat and the daily living conditions of the citizens of Belize was astounding. It just makes me want to get into PC that much sooner so I can go somewhere like that and start doing my part to help.

That’s about it on the life updates … now for Peace Corps updates. I have none🙂 I was medically cleared weeks ago and have just been waiting to hear from placement. I was in touch with placement to let them know I would be out of the country for a week and unable to receive calls during that time. They said that would be fine and that I shouldn’t expect to hear anything for a few weeks. They said if I hadn’t heard anything by end of August to give them a call again. The thing is, my current nomination is set to leave the first week in October, and the 6-week date is August 23rd … so, even though they said end of August, I’m using the 23rd as my marker and if I haven’t heard anything by then, I’m going to call.

I’m also really nervous and anxious to hear where they are going to send me. As I said, my current nomination is departing early October, but I have a medical accommodation as well and I’m not sure if that country can house my medical needs. I am leaning toward them not being able to send me there, so that really leaves everything up in the air … where I go, when I leave, everything …

One question for those of you who have been through this. If the deadline for my current nomination is the 23rd, but they go through my file and decide they want to send me somewhere else that leaves later than that, will they still contact me by the 23rd to let me know I’m not still up for my current nomination? Or, will they just take their time and wait until 6 weeks before the new nomination? Just wondering … I’ll find out eventually.

So, all in all, life has been trekking along and my wait for PC has as well. I am anxious to find out where life is going to take me!

Side note, I’m quitting my teaching job in two hours. I figure if I’m medically cleared, even with an accommodation, and my current nomination is for October, that I can assume a nomination sometime between October and February (I know that isn’t for sure but odds are with education they’ll find a spot for me before then?). I don’t want to start a school year and not be able to finish out a full semester, so there is no point in me going back … and even if my nomination is pushed until way later, the job I’m in right now is one that I can stay in until I leave and would be much easier to leave on short notice than a teaching position … so that’s the final decision on that.

I hope all is well in all of your PC journeys as well … I’m starting to read up so expect some comments🙂

One Response to “Masters Degree, No PC News :(”

  1. Welder work Says:

    getting a masters degree is of course necessary if you want a wage increase and improvement in your career -.~


Leave a Reply

