Thanks, and a little more explanation :)

July 5, 2010

First and foremost, I want to thank everyone who left positive messages with regard to my last post. I am going to be honest and say that I posted that when I probably shouldn’t have! I was already having a terrible day and seeing that update/finding some negative results of my Google searches realllllly bummed me out … I probably wasn’t in the best mindset to be putting up a new blog🙂

That being said, I want to put a little more about what my update says to see if anyone has any feedback on it … maybe give me a heads up as to what they think it means?

Like I said in my last post, at the top of the screen it says that a decision has been reached regarding my application and that a letter is in the mail. I know this can mean a whole bunch of things depending on the application … it’s what is next to my medical check that is confusing me and making me feel like it isn’t something good …

For most people, when medical is finished they get a check mark with the word “Complete” and a phrase that says a decision has been made with regard to medical and a letter has been sent. Mine has the same phrase at the end, but it is missing the check mark and the word “Complete” which basically tells me I’m not medically cleared … right? That’s all I can assume – that I fall into the category of rejected, deferred, or needing more information.

Does anyone know what they put on that line if they need more info, like more signatures or paperwork or something? I was under the impression that it would say something like “In Review”. I feel as though the fact that it says a decision has been reached means they don’t need anything more from me to tell me what they think about it … which is why I believe it’s either a deferral or a rejection. Does that make sense?

Either way, or even if it’s something completely different, I won’t know until the letter gets here, so I’ve calmed down a bit🙂 or a lot!

I’m just worried. I feel like my issues are similar to those of many people and in both circumstances, they aren’t drastic or really even anything more than minor … so the fact that I don’t have a check mark, yet they have made a decision is confusing and worrisome.

But, I’m going to wait it out … A few more days and I’ll have the letter and know exactly what is going on. I just have to be patient until then🙂

Thanks again for all the positive comments, and the few of you who were honest enough to give me a swift kick in the pants for being so worried and negative … I appreciate it!

3 Responses to “Thanks, and a little more explanation :)”

  1. Stefanie Says:

    I would not worry yet! I had the same thing and it turned out they were missing information from me and the letter in the mail was just telling me what more I needed to turn in. I also received a phone call once I had been medically cleared so you probably aren’t yet (but that doesn’t mean you are rejected!).

    Also just a heads up, I thought my doctor’s office had faxed my missing medical information and then received an email from the PC asking me if I was still interested because they needed to know if I was going to be able to leave on time for my nominated position or not. It turned out that my doctor never faxed the form! So I suggest that after you fax whatever you are missing to call the PC medical office to confirm that they received the form!

    Good Luck!

  2. Jenna Says:

    http://jcorps.blogspot.com/2008/06/medically-cleared.html

    That’s my post, pic included, of when I got medically cleared. You are right about the “complete.” I’m not sure about that.

    These are my ideas:
    1–your recruiter contacted your nurse knowing that you’d have to have a quick turn around
    2–the “complete” won’t show up until they know you have the letter or have talked to the nurse
    3–it is a deferral, so that you have to wait a certain amount of time due to PC requirements to be retested

    When the med office needs something extra, in my experience it always says something like “hold. All applicants receive this message as it is standard.” or something.

    I dunno if your away of these 2 groups, but you could def ask around on yahoogroups “peacecorps2” which is a message board where members read and answer questions about the PC. They are all applicants, pcvs, or rpcvs. My favorite though is the facebook group “future peace corps volunteers” It is a very active group, primarily of applicants (meaning you’d get a lot of feedback on their experience and ideas). It had it’s Wall for comments of course, but you should create a topic on the group disscussiob board. Everyone is very eager and excited about the process and prospective pcv-ing, meaning every group member LOVES to help the next member. I’m sure you’d get tons of experiences and ideas and thoughts if you posted there

  3. Laritza Says:

    Hey Kylene,

    I got the exact message and when my letter came it said i was cleared. I was thinking the same thing that you were thinking when i saw that. BUT i had been contacted before about information that they still needed and after i sent that is when they said a decision had been made. I think that if there was a problem with your medical file they would have contacted you before making a decision. So i really dont think you have anything to worry about. I live in CA and i had to wait about a week for my letter to arrive so it was a week of worrying over nothing.


Leave a Reply

