First PC frustration … One week for Medical?! Yeah right!

June 4, 2010

Okay, so I knew going in that I was going to be crunched for time on the medical process since they want me to leave in October … from what I’ve heard, the medical process can be slow and tedious so I knew I’d have to be on the ball in order to get things done in the 2.5 months until the 6 week invite mark.

Well, I woke up to an email this morning from PC Medical stating that my documents are being sent out today. The email also stated that in order for me to stay on track for my October leave date, they would like me to have my documents back to their office by June 21st … ummm, what?

Let’s do the math. PC Medical sends forms today from Washington, DC. I am in Washington state. Knowing the time it takes mail to arrive, I can expect the forms by Thursday next week. That’s the 10th. Then, in order to get the forms to them by the 21st, I’d have to have them sent out no later than the following Wednesday, June 16th …

That gives me ONE week (actually 6 days) to get ALL my appointments in and get the forms sent back … are you kidding!?

I have my dental appointment scheduled on the 15th so that’s fine … an eye appointment can be made at almost any time so I’ll definitely be able to fit that in (calling today to schedule) … but the physical is nearly impossible. I’m going in on Tuesday to get the TB test done early and get the blood test to see which immunizations I have so I can get those shots … but even that blood work takes like 10 days to come back. Luckily I’ve had my yearly exams and other blood work in the last three months, which fits their window to use that. But honestly, I don’t think their timeframe is even logically possible.

I also am most likely going to need to see my old therapist to get an okay that I’m not crazy from my previous anxiety🙂 but, I have ABSOLUTELY no idea how long it will take to get an appointment with her. I called her last week and she hasn’t called me back yet … oye.

I think what I’m going to do is take in a copy of the online medical forms on Tuesday to my physical and do everything I can to get started. Then all I’ll have to do is go in with the real form once it arrives and have them fill it out. Hopefully by doing that the blood work I do need will come back soon enough and I can make the cut off … worst case I guess I FedEx overnight if I need a few extra days.

It’s the therapist I’m worried about … maybe I can send everything in and then fax that over the following week.

Anyway, long story short, I’m a bit frustrated and overwhelmed by the short time frame. I am preparing myself not to make this leave date for multiple reasons (this quick deadline and some medical issues) but still would like to give it the best shot I can!

Wish me luck!

One Response to “First PC frustration … One week for Medical?! Yeah right!”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Speaking as someone who did all of medical in less than 2 weeks, including two additional dentist visits because of fillings (ah, that was a fun Christmas break…), it’s definitely doable. Sucks hardcore, but doable. Taking in print out forms sounds like a great idea, as does faxing in the therapist’s letter later. Send in as much as you can as fast as you can so that they can start being evaluated.

    You can do it! I love that you’re being so proactive, coming up with solutions to this time crunch! Rock on, darling!


Leave a Reply

