Medical will be the end of me …

June 2, 2010

I haven’t even received my medical packet and I’m already going crazy …

I called my old doctor today to get records of my previous immunizations since I can’t seem to remember what I did and didn’t get as a kid … turns out I never completed my Hep-B vaccination! Aren’t you supposed to complete that to even be able to get into school? Seriously … I guess I finished one or two doses but never got the third one.

I had a bit of a freak out moment because I thought that was listed as something you needed to have to serve … however, I looked at the PDF version of the medical form and I guess they just want to know if you have had it? It is listed as one of the ones NOT to give. I do need to get the polio booster and I think the MMR booster, but that should be it.

But really thought I’d be put on hold until I got those shots, which would be six months from now … and with an October scheduled leave date, that wouldn’t be a good thing!

Now someone might post and tell me you really DO need all those completed, but as it stands I think I’m good … no more making calls on medical stuff until I get my packet. I can’t take this stress!

4 Responses to “Medical will be the end of me …”

  1. Michelle Says:

    As far as I understand it, if you don’t need it, you don’t need it, though they will let you know if there is something you need. So don’t stress just yet, fill out the forms as best as you can and see what they say. Something is more than likely to come up, but since you’re departure date is so soon, they’ll probably reveiw your file really fast so you can take care of whatever does come up.

    Deep breaths, darling. It’ll work out.🙂

  2. Margaret aka Peggy Says:

    Not to worry on digging up old immunization records. There’s a blood draw that’s done to show your immunity to measles, mumps, rubella. Main thing is to let medical staff and doc know to allow sufficient time to go over everything requested.

  3. nicole8504 Says:

    You are an overachiever! lol… I have been thinking of calling to request all of my old medical records… Not sure of all the HIPPA requirements of doing that over the phone. Gosh, it is going to stink trying to remember all of the old doctors that I went to… and blood work… Did I mention that I have a phobia of needles… Whenever I get my blood drawn, it is quite hilarious because I have to “psych myself up for it” which takes at least 5-10 minutes usually…

    Anyhow, just relax and move forward… Nothing get accomplished by being stressed out and you will just ruin the experience for yourself. Just remember, this is something fun that you are doing for yourself and everything will get done eventually as it is meant to happen. Take a deep breath (no really!)… Now, have a nice glass of wine and celebrate this awesome accomplishment you have to look forward to!🙂

  4. astronomerpc Says:

    We (husband and I) just finished all our medical stuff and here’s what I know: You should get the records of your immunizations. Better to have them and not need them than to need them and not have them! Also, the “do not give” category is there because Peace Corps will give those to you if needed (I had to email my medical contact because I was curious about that as well). The previous commentor was right, when you get your labs done they will be able to tell you what you’re immune to (I only got one of the Hep A shots a few years ago and it turns out that was enough for me to be immune!).

    Honestly, the most annoying part of the medical stuff for me was the pap smear because my OBGYN is no where near where I got the rest of the stuff done and it took them forever to get their paperwork faxed over.

    Good luck with everything! If you have any questions, I’m sure all of us would be willing to answer them🙂


Leave a Reply

