Legal Clearance? Question?

June 2, 2010

Okay, so I woke up this morning to a toolkit update, which I was expecting … notifying me that my nomination was in. I looked down the list and it looks like they haven’t sent out my medical yet so obviously no check marks for that stuff … but, I do have a check mark next to legal. It says no current holds on legal and the grey check mark is there …

Does that mean legal has already gone through? My stuff has been in for only a few days now, but can it move that quickly? Or, does it start with the grey check mark and then it’ll go under review at some point?

Just wondering if that’s a completed step in the process or if that means it still might be pending …

Oh, the questions …

4 Responses to “Legal Clearance? Question?”

  1. Me Says:

    I have a question about this as well. Mine says the same thing, but I’m not sure that it will remain like that. I think that I recall from other blogs that they go through legal when they start looking over your medical/dental stuff. All of that is handled in DC. Of course, I could be wrong… It would be great if I was legally cleared and only had to worry about this medical packet!

  2. Lindsay Says:

    your normally Legally Cleared right away if you have no major debts, houses, car loans etc; However once you are medically cleared and going through placement your legal is normally put back on hold as they look through everything again. It is very common for legal to go back and forth from cleared to hold to clear again. The main part is your medical. Legal is a snap and nothing to stress over.

  3. Kirk Says:

    A few days after (finally) receiving the update that my Medical was under review, I received a second update that my Legal was now also under review. Before that, Legal had the grey check “no holds” that you refer to…. still no word on what (if anything) Legal could be requesting.


  4. Seems to me that the legal clearance is relatively simple as long as your loans are in order (and you’re not married, and don’t have a criminal record or other such legal entanglements). Apart from paperwork certifing that my student loans can be deferred (all of mine were/are goverment loans, so that part of the process was easy for me), I haven’t been contacted regarding any other paperwork for legal clearance.

    Don’t worry too much about the medical packet! When you receieve it you’ll see that the directions are very clear and it’s easy to follow and fill out correctly. Just be a stickler for having your doctor fill out PRECISELY what the Peace Corps asked for and you should be fine.🙂


Leave a Reply

